Drive Pohanka

Testimonials

Washington DC
Renee W.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-3-2014
Outstanding Experience!

I was looking on several websites for a Mini Cooper. I saw quite a few that I liked. I e-mailed Pohanka about a little green Mini that I liked. Papa called me back on a Saturday morning. He sounded so nice and pleasant, not pushy at all. I told him I would drive up from Baltimore to take a test drive. I was so happy to hear that they were open on Sunday because I' am a teacher and cannot come during the week. If it wasn't for Papa I would not be driving my dream car right now. The whole team at Pohanka works together and does a fantastic job. I love my Mini and I love Pohanka!

Silver Spring, MD
Dee J.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-22-2014
Love Pohanka!

The services section is awsume. Anytime I go in for express service it is fast. Customers waiting area is always clean. The staff in that area are always pleasent and friendly. I own a Honda Civic 2012 and I'm loving the service attention with this vehicle. I receive emails to give me discounts. YOU ALL ROCK @ Capital Heights location. I'll do all my service there.

Fairfax, VA
Adrian D.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-28-2014
Customer for Life

Just leased my second Honda with Pohanka and the process was very easy and hassle-free. I worked with Christy Lee who was very friendly, knowledgeable, and was able to answer all the questions I had. I've never had any issues in dealing with both sales and the service department.

Oakton, VA
John P.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-2-2014
Very Professional

The staff at Pohanka Honda is a great team to work with! They listen to what's important to you and work with you to get the best deal! Devin is a great sale person and I can't wait to buy my next car from him!!

Silver Spring, MD
Denslow B.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-27-2014
Perfect Service

I have called on the Pohanka organization multiple times and have been extremely impressed with their red-carpet approach to my complete satisfaction - and the satisfaction of friends who I have referred and have purchased from Pohanka. I can see why they've been around for almost 100 years.

Washington DC
Tiffany W.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-4-2014
Awesome Experience

I had the best car buying experience of my life at Pohanka VW. Everyone there was very professional and I never felt rushed or hassled. I got the car I wanted at the price I was comfortable with paying. All in all a great time.

Chantilly, VA
Kelly K.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-5-2014
Nice Sales People

I recently bought a 2014 RDX from Amir Seyedan. He was AWESOME to work with. I really hate the process of buying a car and working with car salespeople (sorry). I was ready for the high pressure. Amir was kind, very responsive and communicative throughout the buying process while still doing his job of selling :-) Even after the sale, he has followed up with me several times to make sure everything is great with the car and has gladly answered my simple questions about some of the bells and whistles. The next time I am ready to purchase a car, I will definitely be talking to Amir.

Alexandria, VA
Nickea R.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-6-2014
Loved My Experience

I am not one for car buying- the experience can usually be unpleasant, however; Pohanka Acura of Chantilly, VA complelty changed my outlook in purchasing my newest vehicle. I reached out to Pohanka for advice and was presented with a solution above and beyond my expectations. The staff was very professional, courteous, and respectful of my time. There were no haggling, no bait-and-switch techniques I was able to enjoy myself in a comfortable enviornment and I found the process painless as Ray was a delight to work with. Ray is one of those good ones. I still can’t believe how easy the entire process was. I left there in my new 2014 Acura extremely happy and satisfied.

Chantilly, VA
Michael L.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-7-2014
Return Customer For Sure!

I have purchased five vehicles now from Pohanka Chevrolet and while each experience was positive, this time the sales staff was exceptional. They made the purchase extremely easy, accommodated my hectic schedule and went above and beyond when working the trade-in vehicle, even removing the after market stereo for me. I am not sure they could have done anything to improve the experience. The salesperson, David Wheeler, stayed in contact even while I was out of town. I gave him the specifications of what I wanted and he delivered. I realize this cannot happen without strong leadership and the entire staff is to be commended. Finally, Terry Long was very professional in explaining the various options. He was honest, respectful, and trustworthy. It is very important to me that a salesman makes an honest personal connection with a prospective buyer. I looked at vehicles at a number of dealerships and the reception always seems to be a façade and the sales force pretentious. I am glad I came back to Pohanka. It has been six years since my last purchase so none them would have recognize me. However, I was treated like they have known me for years. That is customer service! I give Pohanka Chevrolet my highest recommendation and would recommend them without any reservation.

Arlington, VA
Heather C.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-28-2014
Simplistic Car Buying

Your sales consultant, Anuj, was very informative and interested in making a deal without being too overbearing. Your sales manager, Junehee, was very willing to negotiate with me on my trade in and gave me a great deal. I had a very good experience at Pohanka Chevrolet.

Chantilly, VA
Jeff B.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-1-2014
Best Chevy Dealership in Virginia

The sales and finance staff were punctual, professional and thorough. Everyone was very nice as well, and I never felt any pressure or sales ploys. I purchased my new Equinox only a few days ago, and I already have recommended Pohanka Chevrolet to a friend.

Fairfax, VA
Jeff N.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-3-2014
Great Staff

The best price and customer service in the STATE. My wife and I just purchased a 2012 Honda Odyssey EX-L with RES. AJ and Ed worked very hard to find us the right price. After a few days of VERY dedicated looking on my part from Maryland to Va Beach, the guys at Pohanka Fredericksburg were the lowest price and they were friendly while doing it. There was a near miss when their internet sales guy nearly scored Landmark Honda the sale(failure to negotiate price and feet dragging), but AJ saved the sale and was able to convince me to keep Pohanka in mind until Mr. Altman could work out an arrangement that worked for all of us. Without fowling up the sales guy’s mojo I can say we got out the door for well under 33k (tax tags fright). The trade in value they gave us for our old car was just barley under the stated KBB for a trade in. All of this combined with the stellar customer service from AJ and ED had us pleased with Honda and planning on returning in eight months when it’s time to replace our other vehicle.

Washington DC
Roberta C.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-4-2014
Great Staff!

I purchased a 2013 Hyundai Sonata. I arrived at the lot in Capitol Height, MD around Noon. I was not planning on purchasing a vehicle that day I was just window shopping. I wanted to compare the Santa Fe with the Ford Edge. I was approached by Raymond Walford. Raymond was the sales consultant who come up to me while I was looking, Raymond was very patience as I walked the Pohanka car lot. His patience and knowledge was exceptional as he explained the features of the Santa Fe. When he pulled the car around for my test drive he had the doors open and the hatch up as he proceeded to demonstrate the features of the vehicle. After test driving the Santa Fe I asked to test drive the Hyundai Sonata. I was instantly in love with this car. Its design is sleek and sexy and the price was just right. Raymond not only took the time, even after we purchased the car and had questions later, Nick treated us like family. He took the time to explain the features of the car and set up our Blue Link package. Raymond was so pleasant and has made my car buying experience effortless. The Pohanka Dealership has truly become like family to me. I am glad to be a part of the Pohanka Hyundai Family. Nice Job Raymond. Roberta

M A Garo Ota'ar
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
1-11-2016
Purchase your car at pohanka Volkswagen is very cheap

Purchase your car at pohanka Volkswagen is very cheap

Steve Howell
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
1-7-2016
Highly recommended shop I found

I did not have a good experience with this dealership. Even though the sales rep was friendly and flexible, I was disappointed by the hidden fees which resulted in a manipulative situation. After the poor experience I had, I was impressed with how much the sales rep wanted to make it up to me though it was too late to really make a difference. I am pleased that he took steps to avoid others having my same experience (see below). Using TrueCar, I found a great deal on a 2013 Hyundai Sonata Hybrid with just over 15000 miles. My wife and I came and test drove the car and decided it was a good value. The sales rep I was working with said to come back any time the next day to process the purchase. I arranged for a friend to drop me off in the morning intending to buy the car based off the TrueCar price. I was annoyed to learn the person who processes the sales contract would not be in for another 2 hours. Why did the sales rep not mention to come in after this person arrived? Additionally, when I sat down to sign the paper, I was incredibly surprised to see an extra 1495$ "Reconditioning" Fee on top of the TrueCar guaranteed "No Surprises" price. They had not mentioned this previously. Looking at the CarFax, I saw the only recent maintenance had been to change the oil, check the brakes and fluids, and rotate the tires. I called the Pohanka Hyundai Service to get a quote for these repairs and learned that the total would be 200$ if I also wanted the tires balanced. This is essentially as 1300$ markup, making a great priced car much less so. After my experience, the sales manager, assured me they were changing their online marketing to be upfront with this standard 1495$ charge for all Pohanka used cars (including Hyundai and Honda). Hopefully this helps prevent others from having my same experience. I was also a bit surprised how high the "Title & Fees" charges were for registering the car in MD, 579$. After leaving here, I went to a dealership in VA and bought a similar car. At this dealership without the MD inspection, the "Title & Fees" were only 310$. I scheduled the MD inspection at a highly recommended shop I found through yelp and only paid 73$ total. I since learned that this 200$ difference is a processing fee, a separate line item at the VA dealership. I recommend they separate this to make it clear why this is so much more than the 310$.

Jewell Loyalty Hubbard-Watson
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
11-11-2015
I love this place!!

I love this place!! Purchase my first car there!!!

Yvonne Irizarry
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
9-1-2015
Great first time car buying experience!

I want to let all of you know that if you want to get a good deal and be treated really well in your car buying experience please feel free to call Shavon Deal (no pun intended that's her name). I came home today with a 2016 Tiguan and I love it. The manager is extremely attentive and they have a VW expert Herb Flowers who can answer all of your questions.

Rashan Jones
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
8-14-2015
Wonderful Experience

If you want to purchase a VW, you have to meet Herbert Flowers. Price Matching-YES; Easy and Quick Buy-YES; Wonderful Experience-YES. I traveled from MD from NJ to get a great deal.

Michele Cook
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
7-1-2015
Best car buying experience in 26 years

Best car buying experience in 26 years of buying cars. Gave me a great price when first asked, helped at every turn. Easier, cheaper and better experience for buying a VW to license and tag in Virginia than any Virginia dealer. They had the lowest TrueCar guarantee, and then they beat that by $1500. Would do business with them again because they were honest, helpful and no hard sell. Impressive experience from start to finish.

Richard W.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
6-13-2015
Great team

I didn't buy my car from here, but this is my dealer of choice for maintenance. They are professional, courteous, and take good care of your vehicle. The free shuttle service is clutch when you need to get somewhere. I haven't had to bring my car back for any issues after they serviced it. Currently, they share a building with Hyundai for service, but their own facility is being built right now. I'm sure the service will be even better after it's up.

Croftonite
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
5-18-2015
used passat, great team at pohanka vw

Been dreaming of a VW passat for my next car for a long time. Got an awesome deal and great service with Mike and the team at the Pohanka VW shop. Can't get enough of my new, used 2012 Passat with low mileage, low payments, and and a sunroof just in time for summer.

sarahrudolph
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
5-4-2015
Great first time car buying experience!

I called ahead to make sure the car I saw online was still at the dealership. After confirming this, we went to the dealership that same night and drove home with a new car only 3 hours later! Mike was extremely helpful and made the experience a breeze. He took us on a test drive and then walked us through the price and paperwork. Couldn't be happier with our new Jetta!!!

George
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-26-2015
Finding a GREAT Dealership and a Great salesperson

My wife and I were looking for a new car. We went to multiple dealers in the Stafford/Fredericksburg area. We found a 2014 NISSAN Maxima online at Stafford NISSAN. When we went to purchase the Maxima we were given a higher price than listed online. We could not understand as we both have credit scores 800+ as well as cash on hand to purchase. When they would not honor the online listed price we left. Several days later while shopping in Fredericksburg we noticed that the old Pohanka Cadillac dealership was now a NISSAN dealer. We stopped in and talked with Paul Satterfield, showed him the Stafford NISSAN advertised price and he honored the price. He was very professional as were all the employees we met and my wife and I were extremely pleased. We purchased the 2014 Maxima and the twist of fate was that the car we purchased came from Stafford NISSAN! Thank you Paul.

Jay Pitts
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
1-26-2015
A different car buying experiance

I was looking for a car with great gas mileage, cargo space, and comfortable to drive. I looked at the 2015 Toyota Prius Two, the 2015 Toyota Camry, The Honda Civic, and because of my son the Volkswagens. He told me V.W. was the 2015 car of the year. I was set on buying the 2015 Honda Civic because I was so Impressed with the quality of ride and the vast difference in improvement over my sons 1996 Civic. The new Camry was also Great. I spoke to Jimmy Harper about buying a 2015 diesel Golf. He kept saying that the 2014 Jetta Sportwagen would be the correct car for me. I thought it was an ugly duckling. But, he was right. The interior fit and finish is along the lines of luxury cars that cost twice as much. But again a Jetta, not for me. I drove the TDI Jetta Sportwagen and felt perfect. What can I say? You buy the car that best fits your needs.

DC
New GTI owner
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
1-1-2015
Best-ever buying experience

I give Pohanka VW the highest possible rating. I bought a new GTI there yesterday, and I cannot imagine a better car buying experience. I was referred to Pohanka by the Costco auto buying program, and a salesperson ( Faith Bennett) contacted me and invited me in for a meeting and a test-drive. I went the next day, and from the moment I arrived at Pohanka, I could tell the place was totally different from every other dealership I have ever visited. Faith was knowledgeable and genuinely friendly. She promptly showed me the dealer invoice for the car I was considering and the Costco price sheet and told me I could buy the car for the (very reasonable) amount set by the Costco program. There was no pressure and none of the gamesmanship and sleaziness we all see at other dealerships -- just nice people selling cars by providing accurate information and fair and reasonable prices. When I decided on a GTI they didn't have on their lot, the manager (Bruce Wilson) quickly arranged a trade with another dealership and sold me the car I wanted for less than the already low Costco price, even though he wasn't obligated to offer even the Costco price on a car from another dealer's lot. Without any hardball or unnecessary bluster, he then gave me what I believe to be a very fair price for my old car as a trade-in. In sum, it was by far the best car buying experience I have had, and I encourage anyone interested in a VW to go to Pohanka; you will not be disappointed, no matter how far out of your way you have to travel to get there.

Shannon Sexton
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
10-14-2014
I am very happy

I am very happy with them.

L Robinson
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
10-14-2014
Helpful and Informative

I just purchased a 2013 VW Passat from Pohanka and the experience was GREAT! The salesperson, Demond, was very helpful and informative about the vehicle and the purchasing process. Excellent customer service. I was unable to stay at the dealership and wait for the service department to finish cleaning up the car, so Demond went the extra mile and delivered my new car to my home. I have nothing but good things to say about this dealership and would reccomend it to friends and family.

Sandra Williams-Parker
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-27-2014
All around Superior Service.

My husband and I visited Pohanka Volkswagen Dealership on a Sunday afternoon just to look around. We had the privilege of meeting Faith and Charlie. The friendliness compounded by their knowledge of their product was indeed impressive. I have NEVER had a more satisfying experience when car shopping than this one. I am still overwhelmed with the efficiency and speed encountered with our purchase. I did say we purchased that same day didn't I? LOL. Keep up the excellent work Faith and Godspeed in your endeavors.

Klu
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
Ask for Tyler Coles

I recently purchased a vehicle from pohanka nissan in fredericksburg va and just have to say that I had the best shopping experience with my salesman Tyler Coles. I've alway been a little weary about car shopping because I don't want to feel pressured but Mr. Coles made me feel so comfortable I felt like i'd known him for years. I woud recommend this dealership to anyone and I LOVE my nissan :)

K. Bear
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
Tim Grant was very helpful

I recently purchased a used vehicle from this dealership and was very pleased with the service I received. It was kind of late in the evening and I wasn't even sure of what I was looking for but the salesman and everyone I spoke with made me feel very comfortable and helped me make an informed decision on what vehicle to buy. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!

M Johnson
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
I liked Donnie

I came in to the dealership to shop for a car for my 16 year old daughter, Donnie Youmans was our salesman and was very helpful. He was polite and patient especially dealing with a teenager! We have not made a purchase as of yet, but when we do we will come back to see Donnie!

Sherry
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
Everyone at Pohanka was very friendly

Everyone was very friendly and very helpful and I would highly recommend pohanka Nissan of fredericksburg to anyone! This was my first time there and I intend to go back!

EDS
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
Fabulous Experience

We had a fabulous experience with Pohanka VW and highly recommend that anyone looking for a VW use this dealership. We located an ad for a Golf online. The price seemed too good to be true. We contacted the dealership and Faith, one of the sales representatives, assured us that the price listed was correct. Before driving the 2 hours to this dealership from our home in Delaware, we visited local VW dealerships to see if any of them would match Pohanka's price for a comparable Golf. No one could touch Pohanka's price and many actually tried to convince us that Pohanka was being fraudulent. We spoke to Faith again and she assured us that the price was accurate and it wasn't a gimmick to lure us to their lot, so we made the trip. We couldn't be happier with the outcome. The car was immaculate. The price was accurate. The Golf had more options than what we expected. Faith was knowledgeable, thorough and overall delightful through the buying process. Even after the purchase, she maintained email and phone communication with us to ensure that we were happy with the car and had no issues or questions. Bottomline: Pohanka could offer a price lower than competitors, because it is a new dealership with little overhead. The sales office was a neat, clean and attractively decorated temporary trailer on the lot.

Shaw
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-23-2014
Tim Pohanka was great

I have had several car buying experiences and by far this has been the best car buying experience ever. Saturday morning we arrived around 9am and despite all the cold weather and rain Tim took time to show us the all the cars we wanted to see, take us for a test drive, helped us purchase our selection before noon. Tim was a true professional all the way. There was no pressure to buy, no haggling over the price and the whole experience was so fast. I will recommend Tim and this dealership to all my friends.

David D.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
4-1-2014
Very Satisfied

I had a great experience with Pohanka Volkswagon. Faith Bennett was my sales lady. She was knowledgeable, efficient and friendly. I was thoroughly impressed. After I left the dealership I realized that I left some personal belongings in my trade in car. Living approximately 30 miles away Faith went above and beyond by mailing me my belongings to save me a trip. This was definitely my best car purchasing experience to date. Financing was also fast and efficient. I would recommend Pohanka Volkswagon and Faith Bennett to any of my friends.

Alexandria, VA
Sally S.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-6-2014
Simplistic Car Buying

Amanda made all the difference in our car buying experience, and is ultimately the reason we chose Hyundai. We outlined our must-haves and our budget, and she quickly helped us find the best value available. We felt very comfortable with her throughout the process, as she never pushed us into "extras" we couldn't afford. I would highly recommend Amanda to anyone!

Fredericksburg, VA
Kim W.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-4-2014
Easy Going Experience

I went in with a price in mind for my trade in and what I was willing to pay for a new car. We got approved for great financing without the expectation of using it and was impressed with the service we received from the entire team at Pohanka Hyundai we decided to purchase two new Hyundai's. I would recommend anyone who isn't part of the Hyundai family to join and I have talked so highly about the quality of the vehicles that someone in a different state even decided to buy one. I will go back to Pohanka for another purchase and my service work.

Fairfax, VA
Beth D.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-3-2014
Very Nice Experience

I had an excellent experience at this dealership from start to finish! My salesman, Bill Hamilton, was fantastic! He listened to my needs and was able to put me in a vehicle that was exactly what I wanted. He was friendly and efficient and made the whole process very easy. The finance department was easy to work with and got me a better deal then I expected. I recommend Bill to anyone looking for a new car and I am confident Pohanka Hyundai of Fredericksburg will exceed your expectations!

Woodbridge, VA
Betsy G.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
3-1-2014
Amazing Customer Service

Amanda really made the often dreaded purchase of a new car painless and enjoyable. From the start, she listened to our wishes and bottom-lines and always made every effort to meet them. When she couldn’t, she was honest and open, as we wish was always the case in the car-buying world. She made us feel comfortable and at ease and explained every detail as needed—from financing to operational details of the new, she took the time to do things right. She showed me how to use the Bluetooth, how the Navigation worked, explained the warranty, all the while not pushing us with unwanted extras or expenses. We would highly recommend her to friends and family looking to buy a new car. Thanks to Amanda and Pohanka for job well-done.

Arlington, VA
Robert W.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-28-2014
Great Service at Pohanka Nissan

I've purchased several cars over the years and had some good experiences and bad experiences at dealerships. Now that I'm a more seasoned and experienced buyer thanks to modern technology which allows me to know the right questions ask and have the majority of my answers before I hit the showroom floor. My daughter came in to purchase a new Altima which she has always wanted but not being as experienced as her "Pops" she asked me to come along with her so she wouldn't get the bam-boozle and hide your trade-in keys run-around that some get. Well she didn't get that here at Pohanka Nissan. The dealership was upfront and honest with her about her credit situation and she was still able to walk out the door with her first new car, more for her trade-in, got a rebate and had the team come outside to congratulate her. I was proud of her and I will more than likely purchase a vehicle here in the future.

Woodbridge, VA
Beth R.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-27-2014
Best Nissan Dealership in Virginia

Amanda Brandt is a fantastic salesperson. She responded to a price inquiry I made on the internet. She was responsive, but not pushy. She was very professional when we met and took test drives. She is very knowledgeable about the cars and found out what I was looking for in a car and made sure the car I picked would meet my needs. She offered me a better price than another dealer I spoke with. She worked hard to find me the color car I wanted, and had it ready to be delivered to me the next day. Amanda is professional, knowledgeable, friendly, and a pleasure to work with. This was, without a doubt, my best experience ever buying a car. Thanks, Amanda!!!

Fredericksburg, VA
Elizabeth J.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-25-2014
Return Customer For Sure!

Must follow awesome people so I followed an awesome leader to Pohanka Nissan...Thank you Angel Turner! Well worth the travel to have a great experience. I recommend checking them out. They are willing to work with you on your buying needs!

Fairfax, VA
George T.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-24-2014
Simply Fantastic!

I recently brought a car from Pohanka and i would have to say the sales staff made the 1hr 1/2 drive worth it, i got a very good deal on my maxima will tell all my friends to go to pohanka very good exsperience. Thanks again pohanka

Woodbridge, VA
Bryan S.
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
2-21-2014
Wonderful Dealership

Went in because my extended warranty was almost up and I wanted to get a couple of things checked out. Jared was amazing! I had to bring in in a couple of different times but he solved everything, and saved me over $2k in repair costs because of him working with the ez care company. I have worked with Pohanka for years, and after my experience with Jared, I won't think about buying my car anywhere else. Thanks Jared and Tim for all of your help!!

MoFarbs
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
1-14-2014
No-Pressure Test Drive, Great Ultimate Price

I had a great experience at Pohanka VW, start to finish. This is a review of the Pohanka VW sales department. I will continue to update this review and my star rating (if necessary) as I experience their service department. Faith Bennett took me for a test drive of both the Jetta and the Golf TDIs and was very friendly and patient, even though I told her I was just looking at Hondas (and used ones at that) and was only test driving the Jetta out of curiosity. Faith emailed me her contact information afterwards but did not call to try to convince me to buy a car I said I was not looking for. Clearly, I loved the test drive. At my initiative (read: no pressure), Faith and I corresponded for a week or so about various options for buying or leasing different model years of the car. I was entertaining offers from several other dealerships, including one bid from a different dealership that was low enough to prompt one of the higher bidders to insist that the low bid could only be a lie the dealer was telling me (FYI, it was not a lie). Several other dealerships promised to beat that low price, but when pressed on the exact amount by which they could beat the price, confessed they were talking about a discount of $40-$200. Pohanka VW also promised to beat the bid, but unlike these other dealers, they offered a price that was several times less than the $200 discount other dealers offered (read: it was a discount worth coming in to hear about). [This seemed to boggle the mind of the aforementioned higher bidder dealer, who could not believe any dealership would sell the car I got at the price I got.] [Footnote: I wonder if part of the reason they were willing to make such a great (for me) offer on the car is because they are a relatively new dealership run out of a semi-permanent trailer-like fixture (hence my low rating for "facilities"). Not only do they lack the expenses associated with a big brick and mortar building, but I'm sure they are also trying to build a client base and attract customers despite their temporary building. (Note that the dealership is opening a large building next year; the trailer time is temporary.)] During all of our negotiations, I felt that Pohanka was relatively transparent and respectful. Once we agreed on a price, Faith helpfully found the color options I wanted at another Pohanka lot and arranged for the car to be transferred the next day. We filled out the paperwork and Faith even waited patiently while I signed up for auto insurance with Geico from her desk (about a 25-minute process). Ms. Portiene, the finance person, carefully explained all of my warranties and set me up with financing at BB&T that was at lower rate than I'd been able to secure on my own. She even stopped me from buying unnecessary gap insurance, explaining that the size of my down payment made such insurance unnecessary. Then I got a tour of the dealership's facilities and service center and was set up with a 30-day check-up to adjust the alignment of the car after I had a few weeks to drive it. The dealership also hooked me up with a loaner Jetta TDI that I could use to drive myself back to the dealership the next day to pick up my car. Actual pick-up of the car the next day also went smoothly. The car was washed and vacuumed, another sales person (whose name escapes me) showed me how to use the blue tooth and some of the other features of the car, the gas tank and tires were filled up, and the sales person even took a few photos of me with my new car. I would definitely recommend stopping into Pohanka VW to see what they can do for you. My initial test drive, during which I did not appear in the least to be a person seriously considering purchasing a new Volkswagen, was pleasant and low-pressure and the negotiation process was mostly carried out by email and ended with my getting just about the best possible price for my new 2014 Jetta TDI.

Greenbelt, MD
ez rider
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
11-29-2013
Pohanka Volkswagen was very impressive

I have been shopping cars for a while and finally settled on the Passat Diesel sedan. The VW TDI diesel is an incredible engine, great fuel economy, smooth, powerful, and with a range of over 700 miles. I got prices at a few dealerships and Pohanka met the price I asked for. Bruce was patient with me and was very sincere with working with my wife and I.